How to set up a public proxy server in some easy steps

This is an English translation of one of my previous posts.

I had to configure a public proxy server. On Internet I found few information on this, so I tried to see whether I can do it by myself, without any tutorial. It was quite simple.

In Debian/Ubuntu:

$ apt-get install squid squid-common

So, our proxy server is installed. We need to do some tweaking, in order to behave as a public proxy server.

$ vim /etc/squid/squid.conf

Find the line:

http_access allow localhost

and change it to:

http_access allow all

Save the file, and then restart squid:

$ /etc/init.d/squid restart

That’s all!

In Firefox preferences, at the proxy settings, put the ip of your new configured proxy server, and the port 3128.

If you plan to limit the access to your server just for your IP, add the following iptables rules on the server side:

$ iptables -I INPUT 1 -p tcp --dport 3128 -j DROP
$ iptables -I INPUT 1 -p tcp --dport 3128 -s your-ip -j ACCEPT

Now, that’s all!

Lasă un răspuns

